ZCB can be used to backup and restore data that is synchronized with Microsoft OneDrive. Both business and personal OneDrive accounts can be protected. This allows recovery of the data if it is deleted or if the OneDrive service is unavailable.
The Microsoft OneDrive application must be installed and the data available on the local disk. Once the data is available on local disk, select the Microsoft OneDrive folder for backup within any File System backup set.
If a restore is necessary, use ZCB to restore the files or folders from Microsoft OneDrive. If the data is restored directly to the Microsoft OneDrive folder, it will be uploaded and synced automatically to the Microsoft OneDrive service once restore is finished.
How to back up Microsoft OneDrive data
The Microsoft OneDrive data is available both on the web and on local disk after installation and synchronization is complete.
Include the Microsoft OneDrive folder in any File System backup set. A new backup set was created for this example, but existing backup sets can be used.
Finish configuration of your backup set and save.
The data will be backed up according to your schedules, or you may launch a backup manually using the Backup Now function.
How to restore Microsoft OneDrive data
Once the files and folders stored on Microsoft OneDrive are protected with ZCB, they can be restored, even if a folder and some files are deleted or if Microsoft OneDrive itself is unavailable.
The following items were deleted, and are gone from both disk and Microsoft OneDrive.
- The Personal folder
- The CSBDash.xlsx file
We can get them back with a restore.
By default, the Restore All option will be chosen, and everything in the backup set will be restored. You can can restore specific items instead by using the Restore Select or Search options.
Restore to the Original Location if you want the restored items to be automatically synced back to your Microsoft OneDrive after the restore is complete.
The Name Conflict Policy controls what will happen if a file to be restored already exists on disk. In this example, the "Keep Existing" option is chosen so that only the deleted items will be restored, even if other items are selected. This ensures that the files that still exist on disk will not be overwritten with old versions from the backup.
Click the Restore button and confirm your restoration settings
Restore is successful! Files that already existed in the Original Location were not restored because the "Keep existing" Name Conflict Policy was chosen.
The restored files are automatically synced back to Microsoft OneDrive once restore is complete.