Every restore is configured with the same basic steps. Users choose a point in time, which data to restore, where the data is restored, and what to do if there's a conflict.
Backups on disk will always be used for if they are available and accessible. The restore process will automatically download the backups from the cloud if the disk backups are not available.
Choose your restore point
A list of all available backup runs for the current backup set is shown. Select one for restore. This is the restore point.
The restore point can be further refined in the dropdown box below the list. This dropdown box displays all of the previous backup runs in the same cycle as the chosen restore point.
Choose All Latest to restore the latest version of data, as of the selected Restore Point, that is contained within any full, differential, or incremental backup in the backup cycle. This option eliminates the need to perform multiple restores to get the latest data. It is not necessary to restore from the full backup, and then the first incremental, and then the second incremental, and so on. When All Latest is chosen, the latest data from all backup runs is restored. All Latest is the default setting for restores.
If an individual backup is chosen instead of All Latest, only the data from the selected backup run will be restored. Data that is in other backup runs will not be restored.
Select the data you would like to restore
Data can be selected for restore in three ways.
The Restore All option selects all data at the chosen Restore Point for restore. Restore All is the default selection.
The Restore Select option allows users to select some data for restore instead of all data. The Restore Select button will only appear if it is supported by the current backup type.
A file tree will be displayed for File System backups. A list or summary will be displayed for databases, applications, and for any backup of any type that was taken before version 4.12.
Place checkmarks next to the items that should be restored. Items that are selected will be restored. Items that are not selected will not be restored.
The Search option allows users to search for individual files, folders, or databases. The Search button will only appear if it is supported by the current backup type.
Any item chosen in Search will be selected for restore. If it is a folder, the folder and all of its contents will be selected for restore. If it is a database or file, only that database or file will be selected for restore.
Review your restore settings
Additional restore settings are available by clicking the Edit button.
Most backup types allow restore to the Original Location or to an Alternate location. Some application or database restores will have different options that replace the standard Restore To options.
Data will be restored to this folder, if data is restored to an alternate location.
When there are no backups on disk, or if the backups on disk cannot be accessed, the backup archive(s) will be downloaded from the cloud and stored in this folder. The disk(s) must have enough space to store the backup archive(s) and the data selected for restore.
Name Conflict Policy
This option controls what happens if a file already exists while a restore is in progress. There are four possible choices.
- Overwrite Existing: The existing file will be overwritten by the file in the backup.
- Keep Existing: The existing file will be kept. The the file from the backup will not be restored.
- Rename Existing: The existing file will be renamed by appending a timestamp to its file name. The restored file will be restored with its name intact.
- Rename Restored: The restored file will be renamed by appending a timestamp to its file name. The existing file will be restored with its name intact.
Keep Downloaded Archive
Backup archives that are downloaded for restore are automatically deleted from disk when the restore is complete. Enable this option to keep the backup archive on disk.
This option is primarily used to reduce download time if multiple restore operations must be run from the same backup.
The backup archive is stored in the Download Folder and must be deleted manually from disk to reclaim space.
Perform archive verification
When enabled, the integrity of the backup archive will be scanned to ensure the archive is not corrupted or otherwise damaged. Archive Verification can take a very long time.
Perform archive verification if data integrity is more important than restore speed.
Run script before/after restore
Scripts can be run before or after any restore. Please see How to use batch scripts with ZCB for more information.
If Private Key Encryption was used, special options will appear on the Restore page. Please refer to How to use encryption for more details on how to restore encrypted backups.
Click the Restore Now button to begin your restore. You will be prompted to confirm your choices.
The Monitor page will appear once the restore begins.