Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 3 Next »

Information

ZCB version 4.6 introduces a new type of retention: one based upon the number of successful full backups.

This change is intended to make retention easier to understand and backup management easier.

Time-based retention is still available. Please see What about time-based retention? below.

How does it work?

ZCB will now track how many successful full backups have been performed for a given backup set. When a new full backup completes, any excess full backups will be removed.

The number of full backups to retain is configurable, with no upper limit. Special retention values for "forever" and "delete after upload" are also available. See below. 

Example

The user has chosen to retain 2 full backups.

  • When the first full backup completes, no backups are purged.
  • When the second full backup completes, no backups are purged.
  • When the third full backup completes, the first full backup and any of its dependent backups (see below) will be purged.
    • Enough space, on disk and/or on the cloud, must exist for the third full backup to complete before the first full backup can be purged.
Icon

By default, backups are purged once per day, at midnight. This time is configurable from the Advanced menu under Preferences.

What about Incremental and/or Differential backups?

Incremental and Differential backups are "dependent" upon a Full backup. When a full backup is purged, any dependent Incremental or Differential backups will be purged at the same time.

Special retention values

Retaining backups "forever"

The ability to retain backups "forever" still exists. Change the number of full backups to retain to zero. Please note that this will have a significant effect on total storage space used over time, because any backup with a retention of "forever" will not be removed.

Deleting local backups after upload

The ability to "delete after upload" still exists for local backups. Change the number of full backups to retain to -1.

What about time-based retention?

The ability to retain backups for a given amount of time remains intact. Simply click the radio button next to the heading "Time period to retain backups for". Then choose how long you wish to retain your backups. Backups can be retained for any number of days, weeks, months, years. Special retention values of "forever" and "delete after upload" are also available.

Help us improve this article!

  • No labels