Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

Version 1 Next »

As a best practice, one should always set a Retention Policy that best suits their business needs. Data that meets its Retention Policy is automatically removed from the cloud, providing lower costs and easier quota management. 

However, a time may come when one wishes to delete data manually.

Symptoms

  • You want to delete data from the cloud for any reason.
  • This article applies to both ZCB with Amazon S3 and ZCB with Google Cloud Storage.

Customers using ZCB with Google Cloud Storage may sometimes need to delete data in order to stay under their quota. By default, quotas are only checked once per day. 

If you delete data to meet your quota, and wish to see immediate results, follow these steps:

  1. Delete data using any of the methods below.
  2. After you receive notice of successful deletion, log into the Zmanda Network
  3. Navigate to http://network.zmanda.com/cloudUsage.php
  4. Click the large REFRESH button in the Cloud Usage box.
  5. This will update your quota immediately.

What's going on?

Deleting data from the cloud is a multi-stage process:

  1. Tell ZCB which data you wish to remove.
  2. ZCB tells the cloud provider to perform the deletion.
  3. The cloud provider deletes the data and tells ZCB when the operation is completed.
    1. This step can take a long time, depending on the volume of data to be removed.
  4. ZCB tells you that the data has been deleted.

Resolution

There are three ways to remove data from the cloud:

Method 1: Deleting Data Via the Report Page

The easiest, fastest, and most reliable method of deletion is through the Report page of the ZCB user interface. 
  1. Navigate to the Report page
  2. Click on the backup run you wish to delete. You may select multiple backup runs by holding CTRL or SHIFT key while clicking.
  3. Right-click to bring up the action menu.
  4. Click "Delete Backup Run" to begin the deletion.
  5. A pop-up appears to confirm your decision. Note that deleted data cannot be recovered.
  6. ZCB will begin deleting your data. This operation requires communication with our cloud storage partners and can take a very long time, depending on the amount of data being removed. Please be patient.
  7. A message will pop up once the operation is complete.

Method 2: Purge All Backup Runs Before...

ZCB also provides a method to remove all backup runs before a specific date. This method is most useful when you wish to delete a large number of backup runs based on age. 
Be cautious when using this method. Remember that deleted data cannot be recovered.
  1. Click on "File -> Purge All Backup Runs Before..."
  2. A dialogue box will appear with several options.
    1. Choose a date. All data prior to that date will be deleted.
    2. Choose if you wish for data to be deleted from the cloud, from local disk, or from both.
    3. Choose if you want to delete data from the currently-selected backup set only or from all backup sets.
  3. A pop-up appears to confirm your decision.
  4. ZCB will begin deleting your data. This operation requires communication with our cloud storage partners and can take a very long time, depending on the amount of data being removed. Please be patient.
  5. A message will pop up once the operation is complete.

Method 3: Delete the Backup Set

When a backup set is deleted, you will be prompted if you wish to remove all data related to the backup set. If you choose "yes", then all data from the deleted backup set will be purged.

Just like methods #1 and #2, the actual deletion can take a long time.

If an error appears...

Please contact support via the Zmanda Network or by clicking Help -> Contact Support from within ZCB.

Help us improve this article!

  • No labels